2019 Board of Directors Election

The annual election for the board of directors is an opportunity for co-op owners to select future leaders of Seward Co-op. Co-op owners can vote online or by completing a paper ballot, available at any co-op location.

2019 Board of Directors Election Results

Congratulations to­­ LaDonna Sanders Redmond, Shiranthi Goonathilaka, Jill Krueger, Me’Lea Connelly and Roderick McCulloch! Together with the current members, these individuals are responsible for articulating the vision and goals for Seward Co-op that management pursues and achieves. The 2019 election featured a large pool of highly qualified candidates. Thank you to all who ran and all who voted.

Full results of 2019 board of directors are here.

2019 Board of Directors Election

Ballot Deadlines

• Paper Ballots
Return your paper ballot by mail or drop it off at the customer service desk at either Franklin store or Friendship store, or at the Creamery Café. Paper ballots are due at all co-op locations by 4 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 22. Paper ballots will also be accepted at the Annual Owner Meeting at the University of Minnesota’s student union, prior to the final call for ballots.

• Online Voting
All owners for whom the co-op has a valid email address received an invitation to vote securely online with a unique link. Those who do not receive an email can vote using their owner number and ZIP code. Online voting ends at 11:59 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 21. Online votes take precedence over paper ballots. If an owner household votes online and submits a paper ballot, the online vote will be counted and the paper ballot will be disregarded.

2019 Election Details

• The board is elected solely by co-op owners. One owner number equals one vote in the election.

• Four at-large seats are up for election in 2019. Three are three-year terms and the fourth seat is a one-year term. The candidate who receives the fourth highest number of votes will serve the one-year term.

• There is one designated employee director seat open for a one-year term, fulfilling the final year of a vacated seat. Current employees of Seward Co-op are eligible to run for the designated employee director seat.

• Employees are ineligible to run for an at-large seat this year. This is because Seward Co-op bylaws restrict the number of employees on the board to two, and one at-large employee director is currently mid-term.

• Voters are able to choose up to four at-large candidates, and up to one designated employee director candidate.

Ballot Question

The board has also placed a question on this year’s ballot. It asks voters to express their level of agreement with this statement: The board should consider a board candidate nominations process.

Many voters have given feedback in past years that the election process would be easier if there were fewer candidates, and have encouraged the board to consider a nominations process. This feedback is ample enough that the board would like all Seward Co-op owners to weigh in before they explore adding candidate nominations.

The results of this poll will be used to inform the board’s discussions in the coming year. The board of directors has sole authority over changes to its elections.